Interview Series: Coach Bryan Kieu (Men’s National Team)

This Q&A was with Coach Bryan Kieu, National Coach – Dragon Boat Team Singapore (Men’s Team)

Coach Bryan started paddling at an early age. He was only seventeen years old then when he first paddled the waters of Singapore. The year was 1997 when he first competed at an inter-school dragon boat race where he represented Hwa Chong Institution.

This very passionate Dragon Boat Coach loves to collect Transformers collectible figures and he loves joining Marathons, too.


Coach Bryan Kieu

COACH PROFILE

NAME:Bryan Kieu
BIRTHPLACE: Johor Bahru, Malaysia
AGE: 34yo
HEIGHT: 165cm
WEIGHT: 68kg

COACHING HIGHLIGHTS

Dragon Boat Team Singapore National Coach 2011 – Present

COACHING ACCOLADES

National Coaching Accreditation Programme (NCAP) Level 2
Asian Dragon Boat Championships (ADBC) 2012 – 3 Bronze Medals
Asian Dragon Boat Championships 2014 – Grand Finalist
SEA Games 2011 – Grand Finalist
SEA Games 2013 – Grand Finalist


Q: How long have you been the National Coach for the Men’s Dragon Boat Team Singapore? Do you like the life of a coach? For that matter, is it easy or tough for you?

A: I have been coaching the Men’s Team since 2011. I can say that I like the life of a coach but the main reason behind it is really because of the passion–the dream to raise the Singapore flag high in the podium finish. That is the main reason why I want to be a Coach. Back then, I could stay on to be an athlete but the community at that time needed a coach to look after the N-Team so I stepped up. In other words, I just filled the gap. I wouldn’t say that I was the best person back then but I felt that there’s a need to impart the lessons learned from the Asian Games in Guangzhou in 2010 and could be carried forward from there and not start from zero again. At that time, I thought that there is a great need for knowledge transfer to carry on the legacy. The life of a coach is tough; but I guess the reason why I like the life of a Coach is mainly because I find meaning in it.

Q: How important is the motivational climate to you in leading the National team?

A: I think a lot comes from within me–I want to do it–I should want to do it. Other factors which constitute a good motivational climate are your resources, whether from the association or from the sports council; and, of course, your paddlers. You have to have enough resources for the team; that includes having enough paddlers, to be able to achieve the high performance you’re aiming.

READ THE FULL INTERVIEW HERE.

Photo Credit: dbteamsg.sg

Leave a Reply

