Certainly not my first South Indian

Yes, definitely not my first time to try a Southern Indian grub but this one amazed me because of its simplicity, fragrance, flavour and cleanliness.

In one of my visits to Mustafa in Little India, I hit upon this small place called, “Murugan Idli Shop.” It is a purely vegetarian establishment and I thought it would be nice to have a sort-of-a-detox from the high meat diet that I have (always have). Sausage, chorizo, tapa, liempo, satay, tocino, roast duck, lechon, among many others.

Just beside the new(er) wing of Mustafa Centre, in Syed Alwi Road in Singapore, you will discover this wonderful Southern Indian taste. Something new to the palate and it sure doesn’t hurt the pocket, too.

They offer many choices but at that time, I was only craving for a light snack. Recommended by one of the waiters, I ordered the Butter Onion Uttapam, 5.20SGD. It is served atop a banana leaf and it comes with four different dips: Mint, Coriander, Tomato and Coconut! You can just imagine the fragrance of the banana leaf combined with these four flavours. It was so scrumptious that I wanted to try another Uttapam. My meal also had a complementary hot soup called Sambar.

Murugan Idli Shop
Murugan Idli Shop

I looked at the menu once again to look for a cold beverage and spotted: Jigarthanda, 2.60SGD. It was only at my first sip when I found out that it is one of their famous desserts. A sweetilicious buttermilk liquid dessert. It tasted very much like a yema and it became both my bevvy and my confection.

Murugan Idli Shop

Anyway, when I tried to look up for Murugan Idli Shop on the internet, I found out that they are very popular in India. Its chain of restaurants is based in Madurai and Chennai Cities in Tamil Nadu, India. I should go there. Soon.

Store Locations:
81 Syed Alwi Road, Singapore
74 Race Course Road, Singapore
85 Rowell Road, Singapore

Leave a Reply

